List Of Governors Of Osun State (1991-Present)

List Of Governors Of Osun State

This is a comprehensive list of all the Governors who have served Osun State, Nigeria, from its creation in 1991 till date.

The list includes both military governors who served during the early years of the state, and civilian governors who have led the state since the return to democracy in 1999.

In addition, you will also find information about the first military governor, the first civilian governor, and the current governor of Osun State.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Zamfara State (1996-Present)

Complete List Of Past And Current Governors Of Osun State

Began Tenure
Ended Tenure
Time in office
Colonel Leo Segun Ajiborisha
27 Aug 1991
3 Jan 1992
4 months
Isiaka Adeleke
3 Jan 1992
17 Nov 1993
1 year, 318 days
Social Democratic Party
Navy Captain Anthony Udofia
9 Dec 1993
22 Aug 1996
2 years, 8 months
Lieutenant Colonel Anthony Obi
22 Aug 1996
7 Aug 1998
1 year, 11 months
Colonel Theophilus Bamigboye
7 Aug 1998
29 May 1999
9 months
Chief Adebisi Akande
29 May 1999
29 May 2003
4 years
Alliance for Democracy
Olagunsoye Oyinlola
29 May 2003
26 Nov 2010
7 years, 181 days
Peoples Democratic Party
Rauf Aregbesola
27 Nov 2010
27 Nov 2018
8 years
All Progressives Congress
Gboyega Oyetola
27 Nov 2018
27 Nov 2022
4 years
All Progressives Congress
Ademola Adeleke
27 Nov 2022
1 year, 138 days
Peoples Democratic Party

Who Was The First Military Governor Of Osun State?

Major General Leo Segun Ajiborisha

The first military governor of Osun State, Nigeria, was Major General Leo Segun Ajiborisha. He served as the leader of the state from August 27, 1991, to January 1, 1992.

Osun State was formed from part of Oyo State when General Ibrahim Babangida was in charge. During his time as governor, Ajiborisha did some important things for the state.

One of the main things he did was to create the Osun State Broadcasting Corporation. This corporation started a radio channel in Ile-Ife on November 25, 1991, and the goal was to help people in the state communicate better and get important information.

He also started the Osun State Civil Service Commission on September 30, 1991. This was to make sure that the government in the state could work well.

Ajiborisha’s time as governor ended when Nigeria moved to have civilian leaders instead of military ones. He handed over his duties to the first elected civilian governor, Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke, in January 1992.

After being governor, Ajiborisha continued to serve Nigeria. He had different jobs in the Nigerian Army, like being in charge of operations. Ajiborisha also worked with General Abdulsalami Abubakar.

Even though there were some questions about his actions, in 2008, he was cleared of any wrongdoing. Later, in 2010, he became the President and Chairman-in-Council of the Institute of Strategic Management, Nigeria.

Who Was The First Civilian Governor Of Osun State?

Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke

Isiaka Adetunji Adeleke was the first civilian governor of Osun State in Nigeria. He became governor in January 1992 and served until November 1993.

Adeleke was born on January 15, 1955, in Enugu State, Nigeria, then started his political career when Osun State was newly created.

He was a member of the Social Democratic Party (SDP), which was a big party in Osun State back then. Even though he didn’t win the first vote, he won the next one and became the governor.

As governor, Adeleke did a lot to help Osun State. He opened a polytechnic in Iree and a college of technology in Esa-Oke. He also finished building the Osun State Broadcasting Corporation.

These things were meant to make life better for the people of Osun State. After some time, Adeleke changed which group he belonged to in politics.

He joined different groups like Afenifere and later the Democratic Party of Nigeria. Then he became a senator for Osun West in 2007 and again in 2015.

He was known for helping poor students by giving them scholarships. Adeleke was even thinking about running for governor again in Osun State before he died on April 23, 2017.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Sokoto State (1967-Present)

Who Is The Current Governor Of Osun State?

Ademola Adeleke

The current governor of Osun State is Ademola Adeleke, having begun his role as governor on November 27, 2022. Ademola is a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), and he works alongside his deputy, Kola Adewusi.

Ademola Adeleke was born on May 13, 1960, in Ede, Osun State. He once served as a senator representing the Osun West district in the Nigerian Senate from 2017 to 2019.

Ademola’s journey into politics began in 2001, following in the footsteps of his brother, Senator Isiaka Adeleke. He gained prominence in politics when he won the Osun West senatorial by-election in 2017 under the PDP.

Later, he switched from the All Progressives Congress (APC) to the PDP in April 2017. In 2018, Ademola ran for governor in Osun State but faced challenges in the legal process. However, he remained determined.

In 2022, he contested the governorship election again and emerged victorious, defeating the incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola, with 402,979 votes to 375,077 votes.

Ademola’s primary focus as governor is to improve the lives of the people of Osun State. He aims to address different developmental needs, including infrastructure, education, healthcare, and job creation.

With his background as a businessman, administrator, and philanthropist, Ademola hopes to bring about positive changes and progress to Osun State during his tenure as governor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *