List Of Governors Of Yobe State (1991-Present)

list of governors of yobe state

Since its creation in 1991, Yobe State has seen a succession of governors who have strived to make the state one of Africa’s largest cattle markets.

This guide provides a complete list of the governors of Yobe State from 1991, which includes the year they assumed the role, and when they left the office.

Complete List Of Past And Current Governors Of Yobe State

Began Tenure
Ended Tenure
Sani Daura Ahmed
28 August 1991
2 January 1992
Bukar Ibrahim
2 January 1992
17 November 1993
Dabo Aliyu
9 December 1993
22 August 1996
John Ben Kalio
22 August 1996
14 August 1998
Musa Mohammed
14 August 1998
29 May 1999
Bukar Ibrahim
29 May 1999
29 May 2007
Mamman Bello Ali
29 May 2007
27 January 2009
Ibrahim Gaidam
27 January 2009
29 May 2019
ANPP later APC
Mai Mala Buni
29 May 2019

How Many Governors Has Yobe State Had?

As of now, Yobe State has had nine governors who have served at different times. The first administrator of Yobe State was Sani Daura Ahmed, who took office on August 28, 1991, during the military regime.

He served until January 2, 1992, when Bukar Ibrahim became the first civilian governor of the state under the Social Democratic Party (SDP). Ibrahim governed until November 17, 1993, when Dabo Aliyu took over as administrator until August 22, 1996.

John Ben Kalio succeeded Aliyu as administrator until August 14, 1998, followed by Musa Mohammed, who continued until May 29, 1999.

SEE ALSO: List Of Governors Of Zamfara State (1996-Present)

Bukar Ibrahim returned as governor on May 29, 1999, this time under the platform of the All Peoples Party (APP), later transformed into the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP).

Mamman Bello Ali succeeded Ibrahim as governor on May 29, 2007, representing the ANPP. Ali served until January 27, 2009, when Ibrahim Gaidam took over.

Gaidam served as governor for a decade until May 29, 2019, representing first the ANPP and later the All Progressives Congress (APC).

However, Mai Mala Buni is the current governor of Yobe State, having assumed office on May 29, 2019, under the APC.

Each governor brought their vision and leadership style to the state, contributing to its progress and addressing different challenges faced by its people.

Yobe State has seen periods of growth and development under the leadership of these governors, with a focus on infrastructure, education, healthcare, and agriculture.

Who Is The Current Governor Of Yobe?

gorvenor of yobe state

Mai Mala Buni is the current governor of Yobe State in Nigeria. He took office on May 29, 2019, after Ibrahim Gaidam.

Buni is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) party. He was born on November 19, 1967, in Buni Yadi, Gujba, which was then part of the North-Eastern State.

Buni started his education, by memorizing the Quran at an early age, and later attended Buni Gari Central Primary School.

SEE ALSO: List Of Governors Of Taraba State (1991-Present)

After completing his primary education, he went to the Government Secondary School Goniri and obtained his West African Examinations Council certificate in 1985.

He pursued further education as a part-time student at Espan Formation University, where he earned a B.Sc. Degree in International Relations in 2014.

Mai also holds a Master’s degree in International Relations from Leeds Beckett University, United Kingdom. Before his political career, Buni was involved in private business, particularly in trade and transport.

He also ventured into furniture manufacturing and obtained a Diploma certificate from the College of Vocational Science and Technology.

Buni’s political journey began in 1992 when he won a councilor seat under the National Republican Convention (NRC) party.

Over the years, he had served as the national secretary of the All Progressives Congress (APC) before he was elected governor. In the 2019 general elections, Buni was elected as the fourth Executive Governor of Yobe State.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *