Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Adamawa State

Amos Yohanna

Are you a resident of Adamawa State, Nigeria, looking to connect with your Senator? This resource is here to help as It comprehensively lists the current Senators representing Adamawa North, Central, and South Senatorial Districts.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Abia State

List Of Current Senators Representing Adamawa State

Amos Yohanna
Adamawa North
2023 - now
Dauda Binos Yaroe
Adamawa South
2023 - now
Abbas Aminu Iya
Adamawa Central
2023 - now

1. Amos Yohanna

Amos Yohanna

Amos Yohanna is the current senator representing Adamawa North in the Nigerian Senate. He took over this position from Elisha Abbo, who was removed by the Court of Appeal on October 16, 2023.

Amos Yohanna belongs to the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He was sworn in as a senator during a plenary session presided over by the Deputy Senate President, Barau Jibrin.

Amos Yohanna comes from Mubi North Local Government Area of Adamawa State in North East Nigeria. However, Yohanna once served as the Director of Operations for the Nigerian Christian Pilgrim Commission. Yohanna’s appointment followed the nullification of Elisha Abbo’s victory by the Appeal Court.

The court, led by C.E. Nwosu-Iheme, declared Abbo’s victory invalid and directed the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) to issue a certificate of return to Amos Yohanna as the duly elected lawmaker for the district in the National Assembly.

2. Dauda Binos Yaroe

Dauda Binos Yaroe

Senator Dauda Binos Yaroe, representing Adamawa South Senatorial District, assumed office on June 11, 2019, succeeding Ahmad Abubakar.

He is a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and was born on January 1, 1955, in Wagole, Adamawa State.

Senator Yaroe began his education at L.E.A. Primary School Mayo-Belwa before attending Government College Kaduna, where he graduated with distinction.

He furthered his studies at Ahmadu Bello University, obtaining a B.Sc. in Accounting with Second Class Upper honors.

Also, he became an Associate Member of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) and earned an MBA in Banking and Finance from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Senator Yaroe’s career surrounds academia, public service, and finance.

He served as a lecturer in accounting and worked in audit firms before joining the Nigerian National Petroleum Corporation (NNPC).

During his tenure at NNPC, he rose to the position of Financial Controller of the National Engineering and Technical Company Ltd (NETCO).

Then, he moved to the Nigerian Stock Exchange, where he played an essential role in the development of the Nigerian capital market.

Senator Yaroe has contributed to the advancement of accounting standards and financial reporting practices in Nigeria.

In his political career, Senator Yaroe contested for the Senate in 2018 under the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), securing victory in the 2019 general elections. He was the Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Capital Market and is a member of various other committees.

Yaroe’s legislative priorities include healthcare, rural development, youth empowerment, and effective representation of his constituents’ interests.

He has organized free medical outreaches, facilitated access to clean water, and empowered women and youth through skill acquisition programs.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Sokoto State (1967-Present)

3. Abbas Aminu Iya

Abbas Aminu Iya

Abbas Aminu Iya is currently the Senator for Adamawa Central. He has a rich political background, having served two terms as a Member of the Adamawa State House of Assembly, where he also held the honorable position of Speaker from 2019 to 2023.

Educationally, Iya obtained his Bachelor of Science degree in accounting from Bayero University Kano (BUK) in 2000. Then, he pursued a master’s degree in Treasury Management, also from BUK, in 2008.

Iya gained professional experience in various sectors. He had served at the Nigeria National Liquified Natural GAS during his National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) from 2001 to 2002.

Also with Sigma Securities, the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC), Africa Petroleum Nigeria, and KPMG as a Chartered Accountant and Certified Fraud Examiner.

However, Iya’s political career began in 2011 when he successfully contested and won the position of Adamawa State House of Assembly representative for the Uba/Gaya constituency.

Despite facing electoral defeat in 2015, Iya remained committed to his political aspirations and reclaimed victory in the 2019 elections, securing his representation of the Uba/Gaya constituency once again.

His exceptional performance led to his appointment as the Speaker of the House, a role he dutifully fulfilled until 2023.

In the 2023 elections, Iya moved to the national stage, contesting and winning the position of Senator for Adamawa Central.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *