Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Taraba State

Taraba State is currently represented in the Nigerian Senate by three elected officials: David S.U. Jimkura for Taraba North, Manu Haruna for Taraba Central, and Isa Shuaibu Lau for Taraba South.

This guide provides an overview of these senators, their backgrounds, political affiliations, and contributions to their respective constituencies in the state.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Sokoto State

List Of Current Senators Representing Taraba State

David S.U. Jimkura
Taraba North
2023 - Present
Manu Haruna
Taraba Central
2023 - Present
Isa Shuaibu Lau
Taraba South
2017 - Present

1. David S.U. Jimkura

David S.U. Jimkura

David Jimkuta currently serves as the Senator for Taraba South, representing the district since June 13, 2023. He is affiliated with the All Progressives Congress (APC).

In the 2023 Nigerian Senate elections, Jimkuta won over the incumbent governor of Taraba State, Darius Ishaku, securing 85,415 votes against Ishaku’s 45,708 votes.

However, shortly after his election, Jimkuta faced expulsion from the APC due to alleged anti-party activities. His nomination process was also seen by legal battles within his party.

Despite winning the APC nomination, the party submitted the name of another candidate, Danjuma Shiddi, to the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Following a legal challenge, the Federal Court of Appeal in Abuja ruled in favor of Jimkuta, affirming his nomination as the valid candidate for the Taraba South Senatorial District. Shiddi’s appeal to the Supreme Court was unsuccessful, upholding the decision of the Court of Appeal.

2. Manu Haruna

Manu Haruna

The current senator representing the Taraba Central Senatorial District is Haruna Manu. He began his role as senator on June 13, 2023, having served as the deputy governor of Taraba State from 2015 to 2023.

Haruna Manu also represented the Bali/Gassol Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives from 2011 to 2015 and is a member of the Peoples Democratic Party.

Haruna Manu joined the Peoples Democratic Party in 2010. He won the primary ticket for the Bali/Gassol Federal Constituency seat in the National Assembly and served from 2011 to 2015.

During this time, he was the deputy chairman of the House Committee on Banking and Currency and a member of various other committees.

Due to his excellent service to his constituency, he was chosen as the running mate to Darius Dickson Ishaku for the 2015 general elections. Haruna Manu was born on August 23, 1973, in Mutum-Biyu, Gassol Local Government Area of Taraba State.

He studied Business Administration with a specialization in Finance at Ahmadu Bello University and earned a master’s degree in Electronic Commerce from Carnegie Mellon University in the United States.

He also holds a certification as a Microsoft System Engineer. Before joining politics, Haruna Manu worked at Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) and MTN Nigeria Communication Limited.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Kano State

3. Isa Shuaibu Lau

Isa Shuaibu Lau

Shuaibu Isa Lau is one of the current senators In Taraba State, representing the Taraba North senatorial district. Born on November 27, 1960, in Lau, Taraba State, Nigeria, Lau has been a prominent figure in Nigerian politics, affiliated with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Education has been the key to Lau’s journey. He began his schooling at the Local Education Authority Primary School in Lau, where he laid the foundation of his academic prowess from 1969 to 1975.

Continuing his education, he attended the General Murtala Muhammed College in Yola, earning his Ordinary Level School Certificate between 1975 and 1980.

His pursuit of knowledge led him to the School of Basic Studies, Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria, in 1980, where he eventually graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Engineering in 1984.

Lau decided to join politics in 2015 when he contested for the Taraba North senatorial seat under the banner of the PDP. Despite challenges, including a legal battle, Lau secured his place in the 8th Assembly of the Senate until June 2019.

His commitment to serving his constituents led him to seek re-election in 2019, where he emerged victorious once more, winning 113,580 votes to represent Taraba North for another term.

His opponent, Ahmed Yusuf (Gamaliya) of the All Progressives Congress, closely followed with 111,412 votes. Lau’s re-election testified to the trust and confidence the people of Taraba North have in his leadership.

Within the Nigerian Senate, Lau has held notable positions, including serving as the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Procurement at the 9th National Assembly.

In 2023, Lau was re-elected as a senator, reaffirming his position as a trusted representative of the people of Taraba North.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *