Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Nasarawa State

Senators Representing Nasarawa State

Did you know that Nasarawa State, nicknamed “Home of Solid Minerals,” is rich in natural resources beyond oil? This central Nigerian state also has a lively political landscape, with three senators representing its diverse constituencies.

In this guide, you will learn about the current senators representing each of these districts, providing insights into their political journeys and affiliations.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Taraba State

List Of Current Senators Representing Nasarawa State

Akwashiki Godiya
Nasarawa North
2019 - Present
Aliyu Wadada Ahmed
Nasarawa West
2019 - Present
Onawo Muhammed Ogoshi
Nasarawa South
2023 - Present

1. Akwashiki Godiya

Akwashiki Godiya

The current senator representing Nasarawa State’s North senatorial district is Godiya Akwashiki. He assumed office in 2019 and was re-elected during the 2023 general elections.

Akwashiki served in the Nasarawa State Assembly from 2011 to 2019 as the Majority Leader and Deputy Speaker. He is a member of the Social Democratic Party.

Akwashiki was born on August 3, 1973, in Angba Iggah, Nasarawa State, and he attended Government Primary School in Angba Iggah and Government Technical College, Assakio, before graduating from Nasarawa State University, Keffi, with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration in 2010.

In the Senate, Akwashiki chairs the Committee on Inter-parliamentary Affairs and serves as Vice Chairman of the Media and Public Affairs Committee. Also, he was appointed chairman of the Senate Committee on Airforce in the 10th Senate on August 8, 2023.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Sokoto State

2. Aliyu Wadada Ahmed

Aliyu Wadada Ahmed

Ahmed Wadada is a Nigerian politician representing Nasarawa West Senatorial District in the 10th Senate. He previously served as a member of the House of Representatives.

Wadada was initially affiliated with the All Progressives Congress (APC) but resigned from the party in 2022 due to a disputed primary election. He cited irregularities in the delegates list from Keffi and Nasarawa Local Government Areas.

Consequently, Wadada withdrew from the contest and joined the Social Democratic Party (SDP), where he secured the nomination to contest the senatorial election.

During the campaign, Wadada faced alleged restrictions on his activities in certain areas, which he attributed to clandestine instructions from the ruling party in the state, the APC. However, he expressed confidence in his popularity and stated that no amount of intimidation would diminish it.

In the February 25, 2023 Senate election, Wadada emerged victorious with 96,488 votes, defeating the APC candidate Shehu Tukur, who scored 47,717 votes, and the PDP’s Musa Galadima, who garnered 46,820 votes.

His electoral success was considered a significant upset in the 2023 general elections, especially as Nasarawa West Senatorial District is the zone of the National Chairman of the APC, Abdullahi Adamu.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Kwara State

3. Mohammed Ogoshi Onawo

Mohammed Ogoshi Onawo

Mohammed Ogoshi Onawo is a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and currently serves as the Senator for Nasarawa South Senatorial District.

Onawo has had different positions in both state and national government. He was a member of the Nasarawa State House of Assembly from 2003 to 2011, where he also served as Speaker from 2003 to 2007.

Later, he represented the Awe/Doma/Keana Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives during the 7th and 8th National Assembly terms, from 2011 to 2019.

During his tenure in the House of Representatives, Onawo officiated at committees on Industries and Information and Communication Technology (ICT).

In the 2019 general elections, he contested the primary elections for Nasarawa South Senatorial District but lost, becoming the Deputy Gubernatorial candidate for the PDP.

However, he won the PDP ticket in the 2022 primary elections, defeating his closest rival with 88 delegate votes.

In the subsequent Senate election on February 25, 2023, Onawo faced off against the incumbent Senator Tanko Al-Makura of the APC.

Despite being underrated by political pundits, Onawo secured victory with 93,064 votes, winning all five Local Government Areas in the Senatorial District.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *