Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Kwara State

Senators Representing Kwara State

Are you interested in learning more about Kwara State’s current Senate delegation? This is the right resource for you as it provides a comprehensive overview of the current Senators representing Kwara State in Nigeria which Includes their names, the Senatorial Districts they represent, their political affiliations, and brief biographical information.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Katsina State

List Of Current Senators Representing Kwara State

Senatorial District
Saliu Mustapha
Kwara Central
2023 - Present
Ashiru Oyelola Yisa
Kwara South
2023 - Present
Umar Sadiq Suleiman
Kwara Central
2019 - Present

1. Saliu Mustapha

Saliu Mustapha

Saliu Mustapha, born on September 25, 1972, is a Nigerian politician representing Kwara Central Senatorial District since 2023.

He’s a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and previously served as the deputy national chairman of the Congress for Progressive Change.

Mustapha’s political career started as the national publicity secretary of the Progressive Action Congress (PAC), and later, he held a prominent position in the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) before becoming the national deputy chairman.

Following the merger of several political parties to form the APC, he continued his political career within this new entity.

In the 2018 Kwara state APC primary, Mustapha gained significant support from the northern part of the state. However, he faced a disqualification midway through the election, which was later acknowledged as unauthorized by the National Working Committee of the party.

Nonetheless, in 2022, during the APC primaries in Kwara State, Mustapha emerged victorious, securing the party’s nomination to contest in the Kwara Central senatorial election.

His victory in the primaries was a significant political shift, defeating the incumbent senator Ibrahim Yahaya Oloriegbe.

Apart from his political engagements, Mustapha is also known for his philanthropic activities as the Founder and Chairman of the Saliu Mustapha Foundation.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Zamfara State

2. Ashiru Oyelola Yisa

Ashiru Oyelola Yisa

One of the current senators representing Kwara State in Nigeria is Oyelola Yisa Ashiru, also known as Lola Ashiru. He serves as the Senator for the Kwara South Senatorial District, assuming office on June 11, 2019.

Ashiru was involved in architecture and real estate as the CEO of Capital Projects Limited, a real estate firm with branches in Lagos, Abuja, and other West African countries.

Born on June 14, 1955, in Offa, Kwara State, Nigeria, Ashiru pursued his education diligently. He attended primary school in Offa before moving to Esie Iludun Anglican Grammar School and later Federal Government College, Sokoto.

His academic journey began in studying environmental design and architecture at the University of Lagos, where he graduated in 1980.

Politically, Ashiru has been active, contesting for various offices. He initially declared his intention to run for the Senate in the 2019 Nigerian general election under the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

However, in August 2018, he and other PDP members in Kwara State, including Lola Ashiru, defected to the All Progressives Congress (APC) to campaign against the administration of Bukola Saraki, whom they accused of poor governance in Kwara State for 16 years.

In the APC primary election, Ashiru emerged victorious, securing the senatorial ticket. He then went on to win the senatorial election on February 23, 2019, with 89,704 votes, defeating the incumbent Adebayo Rafiu Ibrahim of the PDP.

Upon his inauguration into the 9th Senate, Ashiru was appointed as the Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Housing and Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Public Procurement.

During a campaign tour to Ojoku in the Oyun area of Kwara State on February 20, 2019, Ashiru and his supporters were attacked, allegedly by individuals loyal to the PDP. This incident underscores the sometimes volatile nature of Nigerian politics.

2. Umar Sadiq Suleiman

Umar Sadiq Suleiman

The current senators representing Kwara State include Sadiq Suleiman Umar, who serves as the Senator for Kwara North under the All Progressives Congress (APC) party.

Born in June 1970 in Kaiama Local Government Area of Kwara State, Nigeria, Sadiq Suleiman Umar is an accomplished politician with a background in public health pharmacy and development work.

He graduated as top class from Borgu Secondary School New Bussa in 1987 and holds a Bachelor of Pharmacy degree, along with postgraduate diplomas and a master’s degree in disaster risk management and developmental studies from Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, Kaduna State.

Before joining politics, Sadiq Suleiman Umar worked extensively in the health development sector, managing projects focused on aiding the poor and vulnerable, particularly women and children, under organizations like DFID and USAID SCM Projects.

He served as Technical Director of West Africa at Axios International, a USA-based organization.

In 2019, he was elected to the 9th Senate, where he chaired the Senate Committee On Rules and Business and served as the vice-chairman of the Senate Committee on Primary Health Care and Communicable Diseases, among other roles.

In the 10th Senate, re-elected in 2023, he currently chairs the Senate Committee on Trade and Investment and is a member of several other committees, including Appropriation, Power, Finance, and Defense, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *