Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Katsina State

Senators Representing Katsina State

Are you interested in learning more about the senators representing Katsina State? This guide lists the 3 currently serving senators, Including details about their political affiliations, and the districts they represent.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Gombe State

List Of Current Senators Representing Katsina State

Musa Abdulaziz Yar'adua
Katsina Central
2023 - Present
Dandutse Mohammed Muntari
Katsina South
2023 - Present
Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura
Katsina North
2023 - Present

1. Musa Abdulaziz Yar’adua

Musa Abdulaziz Yar'adua

Abdulaziz Musa Yar’Adua is currently the senator for Katsina Central, and he’s a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), having begun his term on June 13, 2023, after taking over from Kabir Barkiya.

Yar’Adua hails from a notable family, counting former Nigerian President Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and former de facto vice president General Shehu Musa Yar’Adua among his siblings.

He had a long career in the Nigerian Army, retiring as a Lieutenant Colonel in 2010, serving for 29 years. After retiring, he joined the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) in 2010 and later became a member of the APC in 2014.

However, Yar’Adua has faced challenges in his political career, including unsuccessful attempts in party primaries. His perseverance paid off when he won the APC primary election for the Katsina Central Senatorial District in 2022.

In the following 2023 Nigerian Senate election, he secured the seat with 153,512 votes. Beyond his political career, Yar’Adua is a family man, married with children.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Enugu State

2. Dandutse Mohammed Muntari

Dandutse Mohammed Muntari

Sen. Dandutse Mohammed Muntari currently represents the Katsina South Senatorial District in the 10th Senate, serving his first term under the All Progressives Congress (APC) party.

Sen. Dandutse is the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and Tertiary Education Trust Funds (TETFUND).

Born on November 10, 1966, Sen. Dandutse’s highest educational qualification is a Postgraduate Certificate. During the elections, Sen. Dandutse had 203,245 votes while Shehu Garba Abubakar from the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with 151,519 votes.

Some other candidates included Ibrahim Babangida from the New Nigeria People’s Party (NNPP) with 24,413 votes, Dansarai Aliyu Magaji from the People’s Redemption Party (PRP) with 3,521 votes, Abdulhafiz Sa’Idu from the African Democratic Congress (ADC) with 1,184 votes, and Kasimu Lawa; Funtua from the Social Democratic Party (SDP) with 208 votes.

Sen. Dandutse’s representation in the Senate focuses on issues related to tertiary education and the development of educational institutions, as evidenced by his chairmanship of the Senate Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

3. Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura

Nasiru Sani Zangon Daura

Nasiru Sani Zangon-Daura is currently a Senator representing Katsina State. He’s a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and represents the Katsina North Senatorial District.

Zangon-Daura had his education in Kaduna at Capital School for his primary education. Then, he attended Barewa College in Zaria for secondary school.

Afterward, he went abroad to study at the Cambridge Centre in London and later at Lindisfarne College in Ruabon, where he got his bachelor’s degree from Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria.

In 2011, Zangon-Daura moved Into politics and got elected to the 7th National Assembly. He’s been reelected to the 8th and 9th Assemblies since then. During his time in the House of Representatives, he was the chairman of the House Committee on Interior.

In the February 25, 2023, Senate election, Zangon-Daura won with 174,062 votes, winning the incumbent Senator Ahmed Baba Kaita of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), who got 163,586 votes.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *