Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

Are you looking to learn about who represents you in the Nigerian Senate? This guide provides a complete list of the current Senators representing Bayelsa State’s three senatorial districts: Bayelsa East, Bayelsa Central, and Bayelsa West. In addition to their names, you’ll find their party affiliation and a summary of their political background.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Imo State

List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

Degi-Eremienyo Biobarakuma Wangagha
Bayelsa East
2019 - now
Konbowei Friday Benson
Bayelsa Central
2023 - now
Henry Seriake Dickson
Bayelsa West
2020 - now

1. Degi-Eremienyo Biobarakuma Wangagha

Degi-Eremienyo Biobarakuma Wangagha

Biobarakuma Wangagha Degi Eremienyo is a Nigerian politician representing Bayelsa East senatorial district in the 9th National Assembly. He’s a member of the All Progressives Congress.

Degi holds a degree in agricultural economics from Rivers State University and a master’s in business administration from the same university.

Starting his political journey in the 1980s, Degi has had different positions, including vice-chairman and chairman of Nembe Local Government Area. He also served as a commissioner for rural development, chieftaincy affairs, and health in Bayelsa State.

Additionally, he contributed to the governance of the Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta, and held the role of executive director of human resources in FERMA.

In the 2019 general elections, Degi secured victory as the senator for Bayelsa East, defeating his closest opponent with 43,303 votes.

Despite facing challenges related to his candidacy for the Bayelsa State governorship election, including disqualification by the federal high court in Abuja due to alleged falsification of academic documents, Degi emerged as the deputy governor-elect of Bayelsa State after a declaration by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

However, his tenure as deputy governor was short-lived as the Supreme Court of Nigeria invalidated his election on February 13, 2020, citing the submission of a fake certificate to INEC.

2. Konbowei Friday Benson

Konbowei Friday Benson

Senator Konbowei Friday Benson currently serving his first term as a Senator, and he represents Bayelsa Central Senatorial District under the banner of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Benson started as a petty trader before his political career, dealing in various local farm produce such as ogbono, snail, and water snail. And over time, he moved to trading in food items before launching his political career.

In 1991, he joined the defunct Social Democratic Party (SDP) and was later elected as a pioneer councilor in Southern Ijaw Local Government Council.

With his humility and loyalty, he climbed to the position of Executive Chairman of Southern Ijaw Local Government Council in 1997, despite facing formidable opposition.

Regardless of a brief break from politics due to military intervention, Senator Benson remained active in business, expanding his ventures across different regions of Nigeria. His academic qualifications include a Ph.D.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Delta State

3. Henry Seriake Dickson

Henry Seriake Dickson

The current senator representing Bayelsa West is Henry Seriake Dickson. Dickson, born on January 28, 1966, in Bayelsa State, is a Nigerian lawyer and politician.

He has a rich political background, having served as the Governor of Bayelsa State from February 14, 2012, to February 14, 2020. Even before that, he was a member of the House of Representatives from 2007 to 2012.

Dickson’s educational journey saw him graduate from the Rivers State University of Science and Technology with an LL.B. in 1992, followed by a call to the Nigerian Bar after earning a Bachelor in Law from the Nigerian Law School.

His legal career included stints in law enforcement and private practice before venturing into politics. Dickson’s political career all started with the Alliance for Democracy, where he held chairman of the Bayelsa State chapter and national legal adviser.

In 2006, he was appointed Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice of Bayelsa State by Governor Goodluck Jonathan.

Dickson’s legislative contributions include sponsoring and co-sponsoring several bills during his tenure in the National Assembly.

However, he went to the Senate in 2020, winning the Bayelsa West Senatorial Bye-Election and subsequently being re-elected in 2023. Also, he serves as the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Ecology/Climate Change.

Dickson’s achievements include awards such as the Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) and the Excellence in Environmental Leadership Award for his contributions to environmental sustainability.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *