Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bauchi State

List Of Current Senators Representing Bauchi State

Are you a resident of Bauchi State, Nigeria, interested in learning who your current Senators are? This guide provides an overview of the Senators representing Bauchi North, Bauchi South, and Bauchi Central constituencies.

Knowing your Senators is important as they are your voice in the National Assembly, responsible for making laws and decisions that affect your everyday life.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Ekiti State

List Of Current Senators Representing Bauchi State

Dr. Dahuwa Samaila Kaila
Bauchi North
2023 - now
Buba Shehu Umar
Bauchi South
2023 - now
Abdul Ahmed Ningi
Bauchi Central
2023 - now

1. Dr. Dahuwa Samaila Kaila

Dr. Dahuwa Samaila Kaila

Dr. Dahuwa Samaila Kaila is currently the Senator representing Bauchi North district in the 10th National Assembly. He served as the Commissioner of Health for Bauchi State.

In the recent election conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Dr. Samaila Kaila, running under the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), emerged victorious with 102,043 votes.

Sirajo Tanko of the All Progressive Congress (APC) recorded 100,246 votes. The Returning Officer, Prof. Ahmad Set’le, declared Dr. Kaila as the winner and returned him elected, as he met the requirements of the law.

Meanwhile, in the same election, Mr. Auwalu Gwalabe of the PDP emerged victorious in the Katagum federal constituency seat.

Prof. Abdulsalami Gital, the Returning Officer, announced Gwalabe’s win with 28,154 votes, defeating his closest opponent, Ghali Abdulhamid, who secured 17,751 votes.

These results mirror the democratic process in Bauchi State, with Dr. Dahuwa Samaila Kaila and Mr. Auwalu Gwalabe poised to represent their constituents effectively in the National Assembly.

2. Buba Shehu Umar

Buba Shehu Umar

Shehu Buba Umar, born on October 2, 1976, is a Nigerian politician serving as a senator representing the Bauchi South constituency. He’s a member of the Progressives Congress (APC).

In the Bauchi South Senatorial District Election, conducted by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Shehu Buba emerged victorious with 175,505 votes. This victory was announced by Prof. Ibrahim Garba, the Bauchi South Senatorial District Returning Officer.

His closest contender, Garba Dahiru of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), secured 165,727 votes, while Lawal Gumau of the NNPP came third with 3,739 votes.

The Bauchi South Senatorial District surrounds several local government areas, namely Bauchi, Toro, Bogoro, Tafawa Balewa, Alkaleri, Kirfi, and Dass. With his win, Shehu Buba Umar was declared the winner and returned elected as a senator on February 27, 2023.

Shehu Buba Umar is expected to represent the interests of his constituents and contribute to the development of Bauchi State.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Jigawa State

3. Abdul Ahmed Ningi

Abdul Ahmed Ningi

Abdul Ahmed Ningi, a member of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), currently represents the Bauchi Central Senatorial District in the Nigerian Senate.

Born on April 20, 1960, in Ningi, Bauchi State, Ningi pursued his education diligently, obtaining a B.Sc. in Sociology from Ahmadu Bello University.

Before his tenure in the Senate, Ningi served as the House Majority Leader in the Nigerian House of Representatives from 2003 to 2007.

His political career began in 1999 when he was elected to the House of Representatives, a position he held for three consecutive terms.

During his time in the House of Representatives, Ningi played key roles in various committees and initiatives, concentrating on issues such as solid minerals, education, and youth empowerment.

He also chairs significant committees and contributes to legislative efforts addressing national challenges like the Niger Delta crisis and constitutional reviews.

In 2011, Ningi moved to the Senate, winning against the incumbent senator and assuming the role of Deputy Majority Leader.

Throughout his political career, Ningi prioritized constituency projects aimed at job creation, farming support, and community development.

His efforts include facilitating graduate internships, supporting farming initiatives, and providing essential infrastructure like boreholes and skill acquisition centers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *