Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Gombe State

Senators Representing Gombe State

Are you looking for the current Senators representing Gombe State in Nigeria? This guide lists all three Senators representing Gombe North, South, and Central constituencies, including their names, political affiliations, and the parties they belong to. If you’re interested in learning more about Gombe’s current Senate representatives, this is a great resource for you.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Enugu State

List Of Current Senators Representing Gombe State

Hassan Ibrahim Dankwambo
Gombe North
2023 - Present
Siyako Anthony Yaro
Gombe South
2023 - Present
Mohammed Danjuma Goje
Gombe Central
2011 - Present

1. Hassan Ibrahim Dankwambo

Hassan Ibrahim Dankwambo

Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo is the current senator representing Gombe North since assuming office on June 13, 2023.

He succeeded Sa’idu Ahmed Alkali in this position. Dankwambo served as the Governor of Gombe State from May 29, 2011, to May 29, 2019.

He’s a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). Dankwambo has a background in accounting, having served as the former Accountant-General of the Federation.

He graduated from Ahmadu Bello University with a degree in Accounting and holds a Master of Science degree in Economics from the University of Lagos, along with a PhD in Accounting from Igbinedion University.

Dankwambo’s political career commenced with his election as governor in April 2011, where he won with a significant majority. During his tenure, he experienced the loss of his deputy, David Miyims Albashi, in a tragic car accident.

Following his re-election in 2015, Charles Yau Iliya served as his deputy until the end of his second term. In the 2023 general elections, Dankwambo transitioned to the Senate, securing victory with 143,155 votes under the PDP banner, surpassing his closest opponent, Senator Saidu Alkali.

Dankwambo is also recognized as a fellow of several professional bodies, including the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria and the Chartered Institute of Taxation of Nigeria.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Kaduna State

2. Siyako Anthony Yaro

Siyako Anthony Yaro

Siyako Anthony Yaro is currently the Senator representing Gombe South district in the 10th National Assembly. Affiliated with the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Yaro Siyako won the elections with a notable margin.

In the electoral contest, Yaro recorded 97,956 votes, triumphing over his closest rival, Lidani Joshua M of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who secured 36,879 votes. The margin between the two candidates underscores the strong support Yaro enjoys within his constituency.

Other contenders in the race included David John Yako of the Labour Party (LP), Adamu Dauda of the African Democratic Congress (ADC), and Albashi David Abigail of the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), who secured 2,729, 1,762, and 1,551 votes, respectively.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Borno State

3. Mohammed Danjuma Goje

Mohammed Danjuma Goje

Mohammed Danjuma Goje is a prominent figure in Nigerian politics, currently serving as the Senator representing Gombe Central, having served as a Minister of State for Power & Steel from 1999 to 2001 and as the Executive Governor of Gombe State from 2003 to 2011.

Goje has been representing Gombe Central in the Senate since May 2011. Born on October 10, 1952, in Pindiga Town, Akko, Gombe State, he holds a degree in Political Science from Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria.

Goje was a member of the Bauchi State House of Assembly and later served as Secretary of the National Institute for Medical Research in Lagos State.

He has been involved in Nigerian politics since the late 1990s, winning the Gombe Senatorial District seat in 1998 and subsequently serving as Minister of State under President Olusegun Obasanjo.

Goje’s political career also includes his notable role in the Senate, where he has served multiple terms and has been re-elected in the 2015, 2019, and 2023 General Elections.

Although he initially vied for the Senate Presidency, he stepped down in favor of Senator Ahmad Lawan after meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari in June 2019.

Goje has received several awards and honors, including the Awards of Excellence and Exemplary Leadership from YOWICAN, the Nigerian Medical Association’s Award of Excellence, and the Special Merit Award from ASCON, among others.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *