Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Enugu State

Senators Representing Enugu State

This guide provides a list of the current Senators representing Enugu State, including their party affiliation, constituency, and when they assumed office.

You can find out if Osita Ngwu (Enugu West), Okechukwu Ezea (Enugu North), or Kelvin Chukwu (Enugu East) is your Senator.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

List Of Current Senators Representing Enugu State

Osita Ngwu
Enugu West
2023 - Present
Okechukwu Ezea
Enugu North
2023 - Present
Kelvin Chukwu
Enugu East
2023 - Present

1. Osita Ngwu

Osita Ngwu

The current senator representing Enugu West Senatorial District is Osita Ngwu, who was elected to represent Enugu in 2023. He’s a member of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and serves as a member of the 10th Nigeria Senate.

In the election, he had 52,473 votes to secure his victory as declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC). Dennis Amadi of the Labour Party (LP), who came second recorded 48,053 votes.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Ekiti State

2. Okechukwu Ezea

Okechukwu Ezea

Okechukwu Ezea is currently the Senator representing Enugu North Senatorial District in Nigeria. He was born on August 11, 1963, to the family of Late Chief James Ezea and Mrs.

Ezea attended Community Primary School in Umachi, Enugu-Ezike, and Nsukka High School for his primary and secondary education.

He graduated from the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, with a Bachelor of Science degree in Political Science, and later obtained bachelor’s and master’s degrees in Law from the University of Lagos. Currently, he is pursuing a doctoral degree at the Nigerian Institute of Advanced Legal Studies.

After completing the National Youth Service Corps scheme, Ezea worked with the Nigerian Customs Service before venturing into private business.

In 1994, he founded Ideke Shipping Limited, which became a significant player in Nigeria’s logistics sector, serving multinational companies and International Oil Companies (IOCs).

Ezea’s political career began during his university days, where he held various positions in student politics. Then he moved into national politics, contesting gubernatorial elections in Enugu State under different political parties.

He was appointed as the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Federal Medical Center, Jalingo, Taraba State, by President Muhammadu Buhari in 2018.

In 2022, Ezea joined the Labour Party and won the senatorial ticket, subsequently becoming a Senator in 2023. He now represents the people of Enugu North Senatorial District in the Nigerian Senate.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Ebonyi State

3. Kelvin Chukwu

Kelvin Chukwu

Kelvin Chukwu currently serves as the Senator representing Enugu East Senatorial District in Nigeria. He assumed office on June 13th, 2023, succeeding Chimaroke Nnamani.

Chukwu, a member of the Labour Party, stepped into politics following the tragic assassination of his elder brother, Oyibo Chukwu was killed just days before the 25th February presidential and National Assembly elections.

In the aftermath of his brother’s death, Chukwu contested for the Labour Party ticket in a bid to continue the family’s political legacy.

Despite facing competition, he secured the nomination with 223 votes, surpassing his rivals who scored zero votes.

Later, in the general election, Chukwu had 69,136 votes, defeating the incumbent senator and former governor, Chimaroke Nnamani, who received 48,701 votes.

Nnamani accepted the outcome graciously, attributing his loss to factors such as political maneuvering by the Labour Party presidential candidate, Peter Obi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *