Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Borno State

Senators Representing Borno State

This guide comprehensively lists the current Senators representing Borno State in Nigeria’s 10th National Assembly. It looks at their senatorial districts, political party affiliations, and summaries of their political careers. So, If you’re a resident of Borno State looking to learn more about your Senators, this is the perfect resource for you.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Ondo State

List Of Current Senators Representing Borno State

Shehu Kaka Lawan
Borno Central
Mohammed Tahir Monguno
Borno North
Mohammed Ali Ndume
Borno South

1. Shehu Kaka Lawan

Shehu Kaka Lawan

The current senator representing Borno State in the 10th Assembly is Shehu Kaka Lawan. He hails from the Borno Central Senatorial District and is affiliated with the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Sen. Lawan, a first-time senator, brings a wealth of experience to his role, having served as the commissioner and attorney general of Borno State in 2013.

In 2015, he assumed the position of Adviser to the Legal master at Borno Stall, where he played a key role in overseeing various ministries and chairing numerous strategic security committees within the Borno state government.

With a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) as his highest qualification, Sen. Lawan has demonstrated a commitment to public service and legal expertise throughout his career.

Sen. Lawan’s membership in the All Progressives Congress underscores his alignment with the party’s principles and goals.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Rivers State

2. Mohammed Tahir Monguno

Mohammed Tahir Monguno

Mohammed Tahir Monguno currently serves as the Senator representing Borno North Senatorial District in the 10th Assembly, having assumed office on June 13, 2023, succeeding Abubakar Kyari.

Monguno was the House Chief Whip from July 4, 2019, to June 11, 2023. He was also the Chairman of the House Committee on Agriculture Production and Services from July 2011 to June 2019.

Monguno was a Member of the House of Representatives of Nigeria representing Marte/Monguno/Nganzai Federal Constituency from June 5, 2007, to June 11, 2023.

Talking about his educational background, he attended the University of Maiduguri, where he studied law and graduated in 1989.

Afterward, he went to the Nigerian Law School and was called to the Nigerian Bar in 1990. However, Monguno began his political career in 1992 when he was elected as a member of the House of Representatives at the age of 26.

And, throughout his career, he has been involved in politics, including as Honorable Commissioner for Justice and Attorney General of Borno State from 2003 to 2005.

He has also served as Honorable Commissioner for Education and Honorable Commissioner for Water Resources in Borno State.

Additionally, Monguno had a career in private legal practice before venturing into politics. He’s a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) and has been affiliated with the party since 2013, He has contested and won several elections, consistently representing the interests of his constituents in Borno State.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Osun State

3. Mohammed Ali Ndume

Mohammed Ali Ndume

Mohammed Ali Ndume is the incumbent senator representing Borno South senatorial district since 2011. He is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC).

Ndume was a member of the House of Representatives from 2003 to 2011, representing the Chibok/Damboa/Gwoza Federal Constituency.

Born on November 20, 1959, in Gwoza, Borno State, Ndume’s education includes a Higher National Diploma in Marketing from Kaduna Polytechnic and postgraduate studies in Business and Computer Education at the University of Toledo, Ohio, USA.

He started his career as a lecturer at Ramat Polytechnic Maiduguri before venturing into politics. In his political career, Ndume has been affiliated with various parties, including the All Nigeria Peoples Party (ANPP) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Notably, he was a Senate Majority Leader and Senate Majority Whip. Ndume’s achievements include sponsoring bills such as the Constituencies Development Fund Bill and the Electoral Act Amendment Bill, which facilitated the participation of Internally Displaced Persons (IDPs) in the 2015 elections.

Likewise, Ndume’s political career has seen him aligning with different groups, including forming the Congress for Progressive Change (CPC), which later merged into the APC.

He also served as the campaign director for Rotimi Amaechi in 2022. Currently, Ndume continues to play a significant role in Nigerian politics as the chief whip of the Senate, representing the interests of Borno State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *