List Of Governors Of Ekiti State (1999-Present)

List Of Governors In Ekiti State

Ekiti State in Nigeria has seen a series of governors since its creation in 1996. This guide takes a look at who has led the state, from its first democratic governor to the current administration.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Kwara State

Complete List Of Past And Current Governors In Ekiti State

GovernorTerm of officePolitical party
Otunba Niyi Adebayo29 May 1999 – 29 May 2003Alliance for Democracy
Ayo Fayose29 May 2003 – 16 October 2006Peoples Democratic Party
Chief Friday Aderemi16 October 2006 – 19 October 2006Peoples Democratic Party
Brigadier General Tunji Olurin19 October 2006 – 27 April 2007Peoples Democratic Party
Tope Ademiluyi27 April 2007 – 29 May 2007Peoples Democratic Party
Olusegun Oni29 May 2007 – 17 February 2009Peoples Democratic Party
Tunji Odeyemi17 February 2009 – 6 May 2009Peoples Democratic Party
Olusegun Oni6 May 2009 – 15 October 2010Peoples Democratic Party
Kayode Fayemi16 October 2010 – 16 October 2014Action Congress of Nigeria
Ayo Fayose16 October 2014 – 16 October 2018Peoples Democratic Party
Kayode Fayemi16 October 2018 – 16 October 2022All Progressives Congress
Biodun Oyebanji16 October 2022 – IncumbentAll Progressives Congress

Who Was The First Governor Of Ekiti State?

Otunba Niyi Adebayo

The first governor of Ekiti State, Otunba Niyi Adebayo, held office from May 29, 1999, to May 29, 2003. Adebayo, a Nigerian lawyer and politician, made history as the inaugural democratically elected governor of the state.

Born on February 4, 1958, Adebayo pursued his education at the University of Lagos, where he obtained a law degree. He then ventured into politics, becoming a prominent figure in the Nigerian political landscape.

During his tenure as governor, Adebayo represented the Alliance for Democracy (AD) party. In August 2019, he was appointed as the Minister of Industry, Trade, and Investment by President Muhammadu Buhari.

Serving in this capacity until May 2023, Adebayo contributed to shaping Nigeria’s economic policies and promoting investment opportunities in the country.

Throughout his career, Adebayo has been associated with different political parties, including the All Progressives Congress (APC), of which he is currently a member.

In addition to his political achievements, Adebayo is known for his expertise in legal and advisory work. He has made significant contributions to areas such as project finance, oil and gas, contract procurement, and business facilitation.

Adebayo’s memberships in prestigious professional organizations, including the Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) and the International Bar Association (IBA), underscore his standing as a respected legal practitioner.

Who Is The Current Governor Of Ekiti State?

Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji

The current Governor of Ekiti State is Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji, commonly known as Biodun Oyebanji. He assumed office on October 16, 2022, succeeding Kayode Fayemi.

Oyebanji is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) political party. Born on December 21, 1967, in Ikogosi, Ekiti State, Nigeria, Oyebanji has a background in political science.

He attended various educational institutions, including Awo Community High School, C.A.C Grammar School, Federal School of Art and Science, and District Commercial Secondary School.

Also obtained his Bachelor of Science (BSc) degree in Political Science from Ekiti State University (formerly Ondo State University) in 1989 and pursued further studies at the University of Ibadan, where he earned his Master’s degree (MSc) in Political Science in 1992.

Oyebanji’s career in public service spans several roles and appointments.

He served as the Secretary of the committee responsible for the creation of Ekiti State and held positions such as Secretary of the Ekiti State Development Fund and Chairman of the governing board, Citizenship and Leadership Training Centre.

Oyebanji also served as Commissioner for Integration and Inter-governmental Affairs and later in Ekiti’s Office of Transformation Strategy and Delivery under the administration of Kayode Fayemi.

In 2018, Oyebanji was appointed Secretary to the State Government (SSG) by Kayode Fayemi. Then he resigned from this position in 2021 to pursue his gubernatorial aspirations.

Oyebanji emerged as the APC gubernatorial flag bearer in the 2022 Ekiti State gubernatorial election, having won the election with a significant margin and was officially sworn in as Governor of Ekiti State on October 16, 2022.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Bauchi State (1976-Present)

Who Is The Current Deputy Governor Of Ekiti State?

Chief Monisade Christiana Afuye

The current Deputy Governor of Ekiti State is Chief Monisade Christiana Afuye. She assumed office on October 16, 2022, alongside Governor Biodun Oyebanji.

Before she was appointed deputy governor, she succeeded Bisi Egbeyemi in the role. Chief Monisade Christiana Afuye was born on September 28, 1958, in Ikere-Ekiti, Ikere local government area of Ekiti State, Nigeria.

She attended Saint Joseph CAC Primary School in Aramoko-Ekiti for her primary education and Amoye Grammar School in Ikere-Ekiti for her secondary education.

She furthered her studies at Crown Polytechnic, Ado Ekiti, Ekiti State, and obtained her Ordinary National Diploma and Higher National Diploma in Public Administration.

Apart from her political career, Chief Monisade Christiana Afuye is also known for her catering business and her background in public administration. She has shown dedication to public service through her different roles and responsibilities.

As the Deputy Governor of Ekiti State, Chief Monisade Christiana Afuye plays a crucial role in supporting Governor Biodun Oyebanji in the governance and administration of the state.

Together, they work towards the development and progress of Ekiti State, aiming to improve the lives of its residents and promote prosperity and unity within the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *