Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Yobe State

Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Yobe State

Yobe State, located in northeastern Nigeria, is currently represented by three senators in the National Assembly.

These senators play an important role in voicing concerns and advocating for the interests of their respective constituencies.

This comprehensive guide provides insights into the backgrounds, political careers, and key contributions of the current senators representing the Yobe North, Yobe East, and Yobe South senatorial districts.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Ebonyi State

List Of Current Senators Representing Yobe State

Lawan Hamad Ibrahim
Yobe North
2007 - Present
Musa Mustapha
Yobe East
2023 - Present
Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed
Yobe South
2019 - Present

1. Lawan Hamad Ibrahim

Lawan Hamad Ibrahim

Ahmad Ibrahim Lawan is one of the current senators representing Yobe State in Nigeria, and he’s been serving as the senator for Yobe North since June 2007. Lawan is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) party.

He started his political career in 1999 when he was elected to the House of Representatives, representing the Bade/Jakusko Constituency. Later, he moved to the Senate in 2007 and has been reelected multiple times since then.

Lawan is well-educated, holding degrees from various institutions including the University of Maiduguri, Ahmadu Bello University, and Cranfield University.

He has a background in Geography and has also worked as a lecturer at the University of Maiduguri. In addition to his academic and political career, Lawan has held several important positions within the Nigerian government.

He served as the Senate Majority Leader from January 2017 to June 2019. Lawan was elected as the President of the Nigerian Senate in June 2019, a position he held until June 2023.

During his tenure, he played a significant role in shaping legislative decisions and representing the interests of his constituents. however, Lawan’s leadership has not been without controversy.

In 2015, he contested for the position of Senate President but was unsuccessful. However, in 2019, he emerged victorious in the Senate Presidency race, defeating his opponent with a significant majority of votes.

In August 2021, he was accused, along with other legislators, of receiving bribes related to the course of the Petroleum Industry Bill.

2. Musa Mustapha

Musa Mustapha

One of the current senators representing Yobe State is Musa Mustapha, also known as ‘Kulas’. He emerged as the winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election for the Yobe East Senatorial Bye-election held in February.

Musa Mustapha previously served as the commissioner of the Yobe State Ministry of Transport and Energy. The Yobe East Senatorial seat became vacant when Senator Ibrahim Gaidam was appointed as the Minister of Police Affairs by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

In the APC primary election, Musa Mustapha secured a landslide victory, obtaining 356 out of the 357 votes cast. His opponent, Salisu Sanda, scored zero votes, while one vote was declared invalid.

The primary election was conducted at the August 27 Stadium in Damaturu, under the supervision of a three-member committee chaired by Ibrahim Masari, with Ibrahim Jalo serving as the secretary.

In his acceptance speech, Musa Mustapha pledged to safeguard the interests of the people of Yobe East Senatorial District (Zone A) in the 10th National Assembly.

He expressed gratitude to Governor Mai Mala Buni and the Yobe State APC Chairman, Alhaji Mohammed Gadaka, for their leadership and support in ensuring victory for the party.

3. Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed

Bomai Ibrahim Mohammed

Ibrahim Mohammed Bomai is the current senator representing the Yobe South Senatorial District. He has been serving as the Senator for Yobe South since June 11, 2019.

Ibrahim Mohammed Bomai, born on February 10, 1960, is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC). He obtained his education from Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University in Bauchi and Kaduna Polytechnic.

Bomai had a career in finance and education before becoming a politician. He worked as a lecturer, finance officer, and accountant in different institutions before entering federal service.

In 2008, he became the Director of Treasury of the Federal Capital Territory Administration, a position he held until his retirement in August 2016.

In the Senate, Ibrahim Mohammed Bomai has been representing his constituency. He was first elected in 2019 and reelected in the 2023 Yobe South Senatorial District Election.

However, his reelection faced some challenges, with the election initially declared inconclusive. A supplementary poll held on April 15, 2023, confirmed his victory. Recently, there have been controversies surrounding some of Bomai’s constituency projects.

The Independent Corrupt Practices Commission (ICPC) found issues with the execution of certain projects, including undug boreholes and missing generators.

Regardless, Bomai’s legislative aide has refuted these claims, stating that the allegations are based on incorrect information.

The aide provided detailed clarifications regarding the borehole projects, generator installations, and a missing transformer, asserting that Bomai holds no responsibility for these matters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *