List Of Governors Of Gombe State (1996-Present)

List Of Governors Of Gombe State

Gombe State, nicknamed the “Jewel in the Savannah,” was established in 1996.  This resource provides a comprehensive look at the state’s leadership history, including the two military administrators who governed from 1996 to 1999 and the four elected governors who have served since then. In this guide, you’ll find a complete list of all leaders, their tenures, and political affiliations.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Benue State (1976-Present)

Complete List Of Past And Current Governor Of Gombe State

Began Tenure
Ended Tenure
Group Captain Joseph Orji
7 Oct 1996
Aug 1998
Connel M I Bawa
Aug 1998
29 May 1999
Abubakar Habu Hashidu
29 May 1999
29 May 2003
Mohammed Danjuma Goje
29 May 2003
May 2011
Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo
May 2011
29 May 2019
Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya
May 2019

Who Is The First Governor Of Gombe State?

Alhaji Abubakar Habu Hashidu

The first governor of Gombe State, Nigeria, was Alhaji Abubakar Habu Hashidu. He took office on May 29, 1999, and served until May 29, 2003.

Hashidu was born on April 10, 1944, in Hashidu, which was part of the Northern Region of British Nigeria and is now located in Gombe State, Nigeria. He passed away on July 27, 2018, at the age of 74.

Hashidu was a prominent Nigerian politician who had previously served as a Minister of Water Resources, Minister of Agriculture, and Minister of Rural Development during the military regime of General Ibrahim Babangida.

He was also a member of the Vision 2010 committee established by General Sani Abacha to outline a developmental roadmap for the country.

As the first elected governor of Gombe State, Hashidu represented the All People’s Party (APP) and assumed office with his deputy, Joshua Lidani.

During his tenure, Hashidu focused on implementing policies to promote development and improve the lives of the people of Gombe State.

In January 2003, Hashidu was endorsed as the gubernatorial candidate for the April 2003 elections by the All Nigeria Peoples Party.

Although he was not re-elected, Hashidu graciously accepted the outcome and praised the Independent National Electoral Commission for their efforts in conducting the elections.

Despite his defeat in the 2003 elections, Hashidu remained active in politics and contested for the governorship of Gombe State again in 2007, this time on the platform of the DPP.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Zamfara State (1996-Present)

Who Is The Current Governor Of Gombe State?

Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya

The current governor of Gombe State is Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya. He assumed office on May 29, 2019, succeeding Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo.

Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya, a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC), has been leading Gombe State since then.

Born on October 9, 1961, in Jekadefari, which was then part of the Northern Region and is now located in Gombe State, Yahaya comes from a family with a background in business.

His father, Alhaji Yahaya Umaru, was a well-known businessman in the region. Yahaya attended Central Primary School and Government Science Secondary School in Gombe.

He furthered his studies at Ahmadu Bello University in Zaria, where he obtained a Bachelor of Science degree in Accounting in 1983. Yahaya’s career spans both the public and private sectors.

He began his professional journey with the Bauchi State Investment and Property Development Company, serving as a principal accountant from 1984 to 1985. Later, he became the managing director of A.Y.U Civil Engineering Company Ltd from 1993 to 1999.

In 2003, Yahaya’s political career took off when he was appointed Commissioner for Finance and Economic Development by Governor Muhammed Danjuma Goje of Bauchi State. He served in this capacity, contributing to the state’s economic growth and development.

As governor of Gombe State, Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya has focused on initiatives aimed at improving the lives of the people, including infrastructure development, education, healthcare, and youth empowerment programs.

READ ALSO: List Of Governors Of Kano State (1967-Present)

Who Is The Current Deputy Governor Of Gombe State?

Manasseh Daniel Jatau

The current Deputy Governor of Gombe State is Manasseh Daniel Jatau. He officially took on the role on May 29, 2019, together with Governor Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya.

Jatau was born on December 29, 1955, in Balanga, which was part of the Northern Region of British Nigeria and is now in Gombe State, Nigeria. He is a member of the All Progressive Congress political party.

Manasseh Daniel Jatau has been actively involved in politics and has dedicated himself to serving the people of Gombe State.

His commitment to public service led to his election as deputy governor during the 2019 elections, where he ran alongside Governor Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya. He works with the governor to implement policies and initiatives to Improve Gombe State.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *