Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Oyo State

Senators Representing Oyo State

If you’re interested in learning more about the current representatives of Oyo State at the federal level, this guide is a valuable resource.

You’ll find information on:

  • The three Senatorial Districts within Oyo State (Oyo North, Oyo Central, and Oyo South)
  • The party affiliation of each Senator (All Progressives Congress – APC)
  • The Senators’ terms in office
  • Brief biographies of each Senator, including their educational background and political experience

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Nasarawa State

List Of Current Senators Representing Oyo State

Buhari Abdulfatai
Oyo North
2015 - Present
Akintunde Yunus Abiodun
Oyo Central
2019 - Present
Alli Sharafadeen Abiodun
Oyo South
2023 - Present

1. Buhari Abdulfatai

Buhari Abdulfatai

Abdulfatai Omotayo Buhari is the current senator representing Oyo North Senatorial district in the Nigerian Senate since June 9, 2015.

Buhari is a member of the All Progressives Congress (APC) party. Born in 1965 in Ogbomoso, Oyo State, Nigeria, Buhari has a strong educational background.

He earned a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration from the University of Ilorin in 1985. Then he furthered his education at Ahmadu Bello University Zaria, obtaining a Master’s in Business Administration in 1993.

In 2009, he attained a PhD in Public Policy from the University of Abuja. Buhari’s political career began in 2003 when he served as a member of the House of Representatives representing Ogbomoso North, Ogbomoso South, and Ori Ire Federal Constituencies.

He was later elected as a senator in 2015 and re-elected in 2019 and 2023. Buhari has been the Chairman of the Senate Committee on ICT and Cybercrime, Vice Chairman of the Senate Committee on Industry, and Chairman of the Senate Committee on Land and Marine Transport.

In 2023, he was appointed as the Chairman of the Senate Committee on Aviation. Buhari’s contributions to legislative matters have been significant, particularly in the areas of transportation, technology, and industry. He has been recognized as a key figure in Nigerian politics, often compared to influential figures like Bola Tinubu.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Taraba State

2. Akintunde Yunus Abiodun

Akintunde Yunus Abiodun

The current Senator representing Oyo State’s Central Senatorial District is Akintunde Yunus Abiodun. He is a member of the All Progressive Congress (APC), serving his first term in the 10th Senate.

Senator Akintunde has a rich political background, starting his career in 1999. He served as commissioner for works and transportation in Oyo State between 2011 and November 2012.

Also, he served as an Executive Assistant to the Governor of Oyo State. Senator Akintunde’s educational journey began in Oyo town, attending AUD Model Primary School and Oranyan Grammar School.

He obtained his OND from the Polytechnic, Ibadan, and his BSc in Physics from LASU, Ojoo, Lagos. Akintunde pursued further studies to earn second degrees in Public Administration and Energy and Environmental Studies from LASU and the University of Ibadan, where he became the first Nigerian with a Ph.D. in Energy and Environmental Studies.

Aside from his political and educational achievements, Senator Akintunde is recognized as a reputable businessman with extensive experience. He has contributed to reducing unemployment by being an employer of labor.

His prominent roles include serving as the Hon. Commissioner of Works & Transport and Executive Assistant to the Late Gov. Abiola Ajimobi, as well as Commissioner for the Oyo State Civil Service Commission under Late Alh. Lam Adesina.

READ ALSO: Complete List Of Current Senators Representing Bayelsa State

3. Alli Sharafadeen Abiodun

Alli Sharafadeen Abiodun

Alli Sharafadeen Abiodun is one of the current Senators representing Oyo State, serving his first term as a Senator representing Oyo South Senatorial District in the 10th Senate.

Abiodun is a member of the All Progressive Congress (APC). Alli, a former Secretary to Oyo State Government and the Maye Balogun of Ibadanland secured the APC ticket after winning the primary election.

He received 185 votes, defeating other candidates such as Senator Kola Balogun, the incumbent senator, who scored 84 votes, and Mr. Bimbo Adekambi, a former commissioner, who scored 72 votes.

Another contender, Mr. Kolapo Kola-Daisi, son-in-law to the immediate past governor, Abiola Ajimobi, garnered 145 votes. Alli’s victory underscores his political clout and support within the district.

As the newly elected APC candidate for Oyo South Senatorial District, Alli’s tenure will likely focus on addressing the needs and concerns of his constituents, contributing to legislative initiatives, and representing the interests of Oyo State at the national level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *